Make It Happen

Saturday was supposed to be a great day, a day to make me smile when I’m feeling down, a day to remember and gush about on Monday morning when work rolled around, a day to be a child again.

Saturday was not the day I planned.

This Saturday, my husband and I were supposed to see a musical production of Beauty and the Beast at the Lexington Opera House. Instead, this Saturday, my husband and I spent the early morning hours in the emergency room. Turns out, my husband has another kidney stone. Turns out, life had other plans than Beauty and the Beast for us on Saturday.

I was disappointed, devastated actually. We had already bought the tickets, took our son to his Mi Mi’s house, and planned for a wonderful day. I am not too proud to say I cried like a baby. I really wanted to see that play, doggonnit! My husband felt so bad. He offered to still take me, but I refused. I knew the pain that would follow when the started to move. We needed be close to home in case he got worse. So we stayed home.

The first part of the day, I sulked. I pouted. I stewed in self pity and anger. And then, I showered and got ready to face the day, still upset, but ready to at least try to salvage the remainder of our Saturday. So we went and picked up my husband’s medicine and drove to a local shopping center.

I had wanted to visit the Marshalls since it opened, but had never had the time. So today, on our Saturday, we made the time. We browsed and plundered around the store. Eventually, coffee mugs caught my eye. I’m an avid coffee drinker, so I love coffee cups. I found one for a sister at church and then I found one on clearance, one for me.

The mug had a simple saying, “Make It Happen,” in white lettering on cornflower colored ceramic. It became mine for a whopping $2.00. I know I shouldn’t have broke the bank, but it captured me. It was simple and direct, to the point, and it spoke directly to me.

This year has been a year of goals made and goals met when it comes to pursing avenues for my writing. I have been published on a few webpages and just found out yesterday one of my articles will be running on a new site, a site that will actually pay me for my work! This is the first time I’m even been paid for what the words I write. Needless to say, I’m ecstatic. I’m hopeful. I’m pumped.

And I’m ready to make it happen. I’ve denied myself my dreams of writing, always pushing them to the side, putting them on a shelf in the back of my mind but never allowing them to process. This is no longer true. Now, I’m working toward being the writer, and the person, I’ve always wanted to be. The person God made me to be.

So, this morning I had my first cup of coffee in my new mug. And I was reminded to work hard, dream big, and to make it happen. No one else is going to make my dreams come true. It’s up to me. And I’m ready to take on the challenge!

make it happen

❤ Like Baby Bear Soup

Leave a Reply

