My Favorite Thing to Wear

Mother’s Day has come and gone for yet another year. I made it through better than I usually do. Last night, it was hard to sleep, though. The wave of memories came, like always, and I couldn’t help but cry a little. After the tears, though, a smile for today. I’m thankful for those memories. Oh, so thankful! Mom, it’s a day late, but this is for you. Until we meet again

My Favorite Thing to Wear

Sometime I wear your memory like a necklace,
On display for all the world to see.
The chain hugs my neck,
Where your arms used to be.

Sometimes I wear your memory like a coat,
Keeping me warm from the winter chill,
I wrap it all around me,
And your memory almost feels real.

Sometimes I wear your memory like a ghost,
One that follows close behind,
Like that song I just can’t stop singing,
You’re always floating ‘round in my mind.

Sometimes I wear your memory like a smile,
Maybe even the same small laugh line.
And in these moments I am still yours,
And you, you are still mine.

Sometimes I wear your memory like a tear,
Starting small and ending great,
When the grief washes over me anew,
These are the days I have come to hate.

Sometimes I wear your memory like glasses,
Focusing on all the good I can see,
For that’s how you daily looked at life,
I remember, that’s how you looked at me.

Sometimes I wear your memory like an ocean,
And a smile replaces my frown,
For the waves of your love knock me to and fro,
And I pray right there to drown.

Your memory changes in my heart day to day,
And yet, always stays the same,
Same sweet smile and loving voice from childhood,
How I long to hear you say my name!

You memory may change, but wear it always I do,
And I am better for the wear,
It is my gift, for to walk without it,
That, my dear mother, I could not bear.

❤ Like Baby Bear Soup

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Thing to Wear

Leave a Reply

